• Search
  • "Everyone Matters"

Governing Board

Alhambra's Governing Board

Mark A. Yslas, Superintendent

Adam Lopez Falk, President  •  Ray Martinez, Sr., Clerk
Garthanne de Ocampo, Member • Cathleen O'Neil Frantz, Member  •  Tanairi Ochoa-Martinez , Member

The five members of the Alhambra District Governing Board, who serve without pay, are elected by the citizens in the district to four-year terms. The Governing Board sets the policies by which the schools operate and approves hiring staff to administer those guidelines.

imgAdam Lopez Falk, President

Adam Lopez Falk was elected as president for the 2016 year. A fifth generation Phoenician, Adam Lopez Falk was elected to the Alhambra Elementary School District Governing Board in November of 2008. Adam's family has attended Alhambra schools for nearly 80 years; and once were farmers and ranchers in the old town of Alhambra, now a part of West Phoenix. In addition to his governing board duties, Adam recently served as a member of the City of Phoenix General Plan (PlanPHX-Prop 100) which set the policy and growth direction for the next 50 years of Phoenix. He also serves as a city planning commissioner, non-profit board member, and education advocate. In the latter role, he has worked with other community stakeholders to implement education policy initiatives. His leadership has been recognized by Univision, The Cesar E. Chavez Foundation, SparkAction, The Campaign for a Presidential Youth Council and Pro's Ranch Market. In 2012, he was honored with the City of Phoenix Martin Luther King Jr. “Living the Dream” Award for his commitment to making Phoenix a better place for everyone. Mr. Lopez Falk served as clerk of the Board for one year. His term expires December 31, 2020.

imgRay Martinez, Sr., Member

Ray Martinez, Sr., was first elected to the Governing Board in 2015. His term expires December 31, 2018.

Cathleen O'Neil Frantz, Memberimg

Cathleen O'Neil Frantz was first elected to the Governing Board in 2015. She has served in the field of education for the past 13 years where she taught fifth and sixth grades, and is currently the Literacy Coach in a Phoenix school district. She holds a Bachelor's Degree in Elementary Education, with an English as a Second Language Endorsement, from Arizona State University; and she earned her Master's Degree in Curriculum and Instruction with an emphasis in reading from Grand Canyon University. Ms. O'Neil Frantz is an elected member of her Homeowners' Association, where she has served as the association's president since 2009. She also is a longtime Alhambra District community member living in the district for 25 years. She has one son and one grandson. Her term expires December 31, 2018.

 Tanairi Ochoa-Martinez, MemberTanairi Ochoa-Martinez

 Tanairi Ochoa-Martinez was appointed to the Governing Board in  2017.  Her term expires December 31, 2020. 


Garthanne de Ocampo, Member

Garthanne de Ocampo was appointed to the Governing Board in 2017.Her term expires December 31, 2020.